Dealing With Stress

Everyone deals with stress differently. But over the years, I’ve come to realise that I deal with it incredibly poorly.

If something negatively affects me, it is really hard for me to shake it off… whether its an argument with someone, a bad day at work, a bad commute or something else. Even once I’ve addressed the problem, I can’t shake off the residual feelings that follow it.

I never considered this to be a big deal, as I just assumed it was normal for everyone. But now I can see how much better people are at dealing with it. If something bad happens, you could be feeling okay an hour later. In my case, the stress/anger/bitterness/sadness lasts for hours or even days.

I have 3 main solutions for reducing stress or anger, but not all of them are productive.

1) Alcohol

image

I find that alcohol (particularly beer) quenches that ball of stress in my chest quicker than anything. For health reasons, this is probably the worst way of dealing with stress. It also doesn’t work all the time.

2) Video Games

image

This has a much higher success rate than alcohol. By engaging my brain with a deep level of interactivity, I’m changing my mood and (if I’m playing a first person shooter) dealing with negative feelings and obliterating them. However, there are a few times this doesn’t work… most likely because I’m not physically expending pent-up energy. I’m only engaging my brain.

3) Exercise

image

This has a 100% success rate in my experience so far. Hitting a cardio machine at the gym for 15-20 minutes naturally burns up a lot of energy, leaving me physically drained. I also feel an immense sense of achievement if I successfully hit my target of 20 minutes. If I throw in some core exercises or weight training afterwards, the sense of accomplishment is even greater.

Of these 3 solutions, exercise is surely the best way of relieving stress. What techniques/solutions would you recommend? Let me know in the comments šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Dealing With Stress

  1. I totally get the alcohol. For me it’s wine, but I’ve been cutting back on that a lot due to health reasons. Have u tried listening to music? I have a playlist for when I’m super stressed out. It has music from my favorite movie composers like Hans Zimmer and Alexandre Desplat. Really helps to calm me down

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

