40 Days

I’m not a religious person, but I’ve decided to give up chocolate for Lent.

Since falling ill a few weeks ago, my exercise regime has fallen by the wayside. In addition to a lack of physical activity, I’ve also eaten a lot of junk food such as double-chocolate muffins and M&Ms.

image

If I’d been exercising, I would have stopped myself because it would have felt like I was undoing all my hard work. But when I’m not working out, it feels okay to eat this stuff. Why? Because I have a silly notion that if I’ve fallen off the wagon, I may as well roll around in the mud.

image

That stops today.

If I can’t work out, there’s no reason to make things worse by eating chocolates and sugary snacks. And since today is the first day of Lent, the timing seems perfect to give up chocolate. To be honest, I expect to fail miserably. I’ve attempted this kind of thing in the past and utterly failed. But on occasion I have succeeded so I’m going to try.

So here goes. If you’re giving up something… good luck!

9 thoughts on “40 Days

Leave a Reply

