Stand By Me

If the sky we look upon should crumble and fall
Or the mountain should crumble to the sea
I won’t cry, I won’t cry
No I won’t shed a tear
Just as long as you stand by me

Stand By Me by Ben E. King is a classic song of companionship that I’ve recently grown to love.

In the past, I never really liked it as I always thought it had a ring of selfishness to it. A sort of “Give ME comfort in MY time of need” message. But I’ve recently realised it has more of a “We should all stand together” message. I probably would have realised this sooner if I’d actually seen the film Stand By Me. But I haven’t, and I should probably rectify that some day.

image

What made me love this song is that I’ve been feeling down lately. I won’t get into the personal details of why. But basically, grief is something I’ve never been good at processing. Past grief seems to hit me at completely unexpected moments… on a train, at my desk, or at home. And listening to this song on ‘repeat’ has been incredibly uplifting for me.

The melody is comforting and the words are reassuring. But most importantly, it reminds me that sharing grief makes it easier to deal with. I’m fortunate that my wife and I have each other for comfort in difficult times.

Bad times are softer and good times are sweeter when you have someone to share them with.

image

So… why do I suddenly like this song? It is because I watched the newest trailer for a game called Final Fantasy XV, featuring a cover of Stand By Me by Florence and the Machine. 

I really like Florence and the Machine for her/their soulful performances, and Final Fantasy has long been my favourite game series of all. So this is a great match in my opinion. Furthermore, the trailer conveys a theme of four friends standing together through hardship.

Final Fantasy XV Trailer – Stand By Me

It looks like a tale of brotherhood akin to the journey shared by the four boys in the film Stand By Me (I really should get around to watching that film!)

I also read an excellent blog post about the positive message the game sends about masculinity. If you’re looking forward to Final Fantasy XV, I’d recommend checking out this post as it is a great read. You can find that here.

‘Final Fantasy XV’ Sends an Important Message About Toxic Masculinity

In the meantime, I’m playing the two demos that are currently available and am really looking forward to playing the full game when its released this September.

Thanks for reading this, everyone. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

