Civil Weekend

Happy May Day – its the bank holiday weekend! With three days off work for the price of two, Elle and I didn’t waste any time enjoying this weekend.

image

Friday night kicked off with me going to see Captain America: Civil War. I read this series of comic books years ago and loved it. I’m still in disbelief it ever got adapted for the big screen… even more so because the film does an excellent job of presenting the story. It has been dramatically scaled down (as the comics incorporated pretty much every Marvel character ever created) but the film still does an excellent job in the time given.

image

Every character is given room to breathe, the set pieces are superbly realised, and I truly believe Robert Downey Jr delivers his finest ever performance as Tony Stark. I could genuinely talk for hours about how much this film does well. It is one of my favourite superhero films of all time (with the first Avengers film being the other one).

As Elle was out with her colleagues on Friday night, I went to see it with her again on Saturday night. I’m not complaining though – I already want to see it a third time!

image

Sunday saw us attending an outdoor fair in Morden, full of market stalls and animals to view. It was a surprisingly warm and sunny day, so it was the perfect time to go. I even got to try a free sample of 21-year old whisky.

image

After the fair, we hit the gym. I’ve spoken before about how much fun it is to have a gym buddy, but this time it was even better… because the place was empty!

image

There were only a few other people around so we had our pick of the resistance machines. There was also plenty of space on the mat for for doing core exercises. Sunday is usually the quietest day of the week for my gym, but I think lot of people were also away enjoying the bank holiday weekend.

image

image

Monday has been a day for some casual shopping. Elle bought a light summer jacket and I ordered some new blue jeans from Uniqlo, as my old pair have become too loose for me to wear (which is the strongest indication that any of my exercise is paying off).

image

The shop currently has a range of Civil War clothing on sale. It was an okay line-up, but I already own some cool geeky t-shirts so I didn’t buy any of it.

image

We ate lunch at Five Guys, which is a treat we always enjoy every time we go. This time I was indulgent enough to go for a milkshake and I was happy to learn they can mix up flavours for you.

image

I chose a mix of coffee and Oreo cookies. It was as delicious as it sounds!

image

I hope you’ve all had a great weekend too. Feel free to share what you’ve done in the comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

