Gettin’ Outta Dodge

Hello, fellow bloggers!

As I write this, a solid week of work has ended. As of right now, I am off and ready to relax. Next week will be Elle and I’s wedding anniversary so we’re heading to the countryside to relax in a beautiful lodge (with accompanying hot tub and sauna!)

I can’t fully express how much I’m looking forward to this trip. We’ve booked lodges before to celebrate our anniversaries and they’ve always felt so peaceful and restorative… A far cry from the stress of the city.

image

Don’t get me wrong. I love London and it will always be my home. But while living in the heart of town has many great benefits, it also means dealing with crowds.

This morning, for example, I stepped outside to buy some cage cleaner for our gerbil cages. The walk to the pet shop takes literally one minute, but I still had to circumnavigate two dozen people getting there and back… people who don’t look where they’re going… people who choose the one access point to a crowded alley and stand there checking their phone without having the courtesy to stand aside for the three people (including myself) who would like to continue walking.

I realise this sounds pedantic, but this is a pet hate of mine. I get this every single day on the way to work and when I’m off work. There’s no getting around it. Crowds are everywhere and there are always people in the way.

image

Escaping the city is a joy for me. The lodge we’re staying at is in a tranquil area surrounded by greenery. No stress-inducing crowds anywhere around. I genuinely can’t wait 🙂

Hope you’ve all had a good week!

2 thoughts on “Gettin’ Outta Dodge

Leave a Reply

