Sunshine and Pokemon

London has been enjoying a summer. And I mean a genuine scorching hot summer with temperatures reaching above 30 degrees centigrade.

I’ve been taking many opportunities to take advantage of the weather, including walking around topless in the park to get some sun on my body. Yes, I’m sorry… I know its annoying to see guys walking around with no top on but I hardly ever do this. Its only because the sun is so rare relative to the rest of the year. So I gladly get some sun on my skin when I’m in the park on a hot day… regardless of how self-conscious I feel. I know I’ll regret it if I don’t.

I’ve been enjoying the weather during the weekdays too. Normally, my routine working day involves so much work that I don’t leave my desk during lunch. But I’ve been going out for walks more often lately. It feels great to get out of a cool dark office and emerge into hot air and the smell of summer in the city.

We’ve had good summers before where I’ve still remained indoors and kept working. But this year I have a further incentive to get out and about.

Pokemon Go has taken over the world and for the first time ever in the franchise’s history, the game world is our world. I doubt I need to explain this any further… chances are you already know about it, even if you don’t play it.

Elle and I have been out and about, going for walks in our local area, strolling through gardens and capturing Pokemon as we go. Its a great activity to share and I’m really happy to see just how many people its bringing together. In a time where Western politics seem almost as fragile as they were before World War II, I can’t fully express how happy I am that a video game of all things is uniting people from all walks of life.

The gardens near our home is a particular hotbed of Pokemon activity. Anytime I check, Pokestops are constantly hit with lures for any players to enjoy. And gym battles are near constant too. I also enjoy catching Pokemon on the walk to work, as the river Thames is a great place to find water-based Pokemon.

It gets me out of my head. It stops me listening to music and blocking out the world… and it gets me looking around. It gets me to notice the beauty of the city I’m commuting through. And it gets me away from my desk at lunch.

I even attended a mass meet-up in Central London involving hundreds of Pokemon players grouping together, then walking 5k through the heart of London to enjoy some famous landmarks and drop lures at the PokeStops along the way.

If you live in the UK, you may have heard about this event on the news. It was definitely a lot of fun.

All in all, summer is progressing at a lovely pace and with a pleasant climate. I hope you’re all enjoying clement weather where you are. Until next time, thanks for reading folks!

3 thoughts on “Sunshine and Pokemon

      1. It is! I’m in Tennessee at the moment. The weather pattern is so different than California. As I travel back and fourth, I do appreciate both types of weather. I am a sun baby! Vitamin D from the sun is highly beneficial to our health. Yay sun! šŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

