Weekend Entertainment

Here’s a thing that happened… last night I was sleep sitting.

Elle told me I’d gotten up in bed during the night, mumbled something, and sat on the edge of the bed. She kept poking me and talking to me, but I wouldn’t respond and eventually lay back down. So not quite a sleep walk then… The only thing I recall is having a dream about baking. There was something in the oven I needed to coat with cheese or sugar or something. Odd, right?

For a late September, the weather was quite clement so we went for a stroll. Our first stop was to pick up our free weekly Starbucks drinks. A Peach Green Tea Lemonade for me and a Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino for Elle.

Photo_2016-09-24_03-05-15_PM.png

After that, we made our way to some nearby gardens to enjoy the sunshine. Sadly, there was more cloud layer than sunshine, but it was still a mild and pleasant day. The sight of fallen brown leaves was a nice reminder that we truly are in Autumn now.

20160924_153115.jpg

In terms of entertainment, I’ve been enjoying some new arrivals this week. First of all is Captain America: Civil War, recently released on disc.

20160905_182122-1.jpg

I am still in awe of how much this film gets right. I can’t even write about it, as I feel I couldn’t do it justice. Maybe one day I will… but for now I will simply say that I am head over heels in love with Civil War. It is my favourite superhero film of all time and one of a select few blockbusters I would rate 10/10.

On the book front, I’ve been reading the latest novel by Peter F. Hamilton called Night Without Stars.

20160922_071128-1.jpg

This is the second half of the Fallers story, with the first novel called The Abyss Beyond Dreams. Its a compelling story with believable characters and is great for science-fiction fans. Peter F. Hamilton is really the only sci-fi writer I can read these days. I’m just so used to his style and his approach to world-building and story telling.

Finally, I’ve been playing the newest expansion to be released for the video game called Destiny.

destiny.jpg

This is a game I love playing for reasons I detailed about here. This new expansion is called Rise of Iron and adds extra story quests, side quests, areas to explore, game modes etc. There is a tonne of new content to keep the game fresh and interesting for me and my online buddies. Its not amazing, but its a solid expansion and I’m enjoying it a lot.

That’s all for now – thanks for reading, folks! Until next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

