Forwards

“You can’t go through life trying to avoid getting a broken heart. If you do, it’ll break from loneliness anyway.”

This isn’t a quote from a celebrated poet or historical figure. Its actually a quote from an old episode of Deep Space Nine, a show I grew up with when I was younger and am now re-living thanks to Netflix.

After losing Lexie┬árecently, I’ve been thinking about how hard it is to say goodbye to pets. If you’re not a pet owner, I can only tell you that its as hard as losing a family member. It is losing a family member. And it breaks my heart every time it happens.

But the heartache and the pain… its all worth it. I remember learning this from Deep Space Nine when I was a kid, but I’m watching the episode again right now and remembering that lesson. Its something I’ve forgotten over the years, but its a lesson everyone should learn, I feel.

I considered never buying more gerbils in the future. I even discussed it with Elle because of how painful it is when their time comes to an end. But now I remember that going through life trying to avoid heartache is a bad way to live. It may be easier… but┬áthat doesn’t mean its right.

I wouldn’t trade the time we had with our pets for anything. I’ll cherish the time we had together and I’ll keep moving forwards.

Thanks for reading, folks.

20161021_074640

Leave a Reply

