Out and About in London

A lot has happened since my last post. Most notably, America voted Donald Trump as their new president. As scary and depressing as that debacle has been, I sadly saw it coming a mile away so I’m not going to focus on that.

I’ve been thinking a lot about Lexie lately. Elle purchased a little plant in her name and we print a photo of her to go in our permanent frame on the wall. My mother-in-law’s eldest cat also passed away… peacefully on their couch surrounded by his family.

Both politically and personally, 2016 has been a year with some bad times. But it doesn’t feel wholly bad. There has been so much happiness and so many great times shared with friends and loved ones that it really just re-asserts my belief that all of life is about perspective.

Life is sad and joyous, easy and hard. It just depends on which part of the curve we’re currently riding. Everything passes in time, be it good or bad. Its probably the only one true constant in our existence as humans.

Anyway, here are a few photos of some fun things Elle and I have been upto in the last couple of weeks…

A trip to Central London allowed Elle to enjoy her Tales of Bath treatment at the Lush Spa in Oxford Circus. While I waited, I took the opportunity to wander the nearby area and check out some fun places like Forbidden Planet’s flagship store and some cool bakery shops in ChinaTown.

Photo_2016-10-22_06-07-04_PM.png

We also returned to the O2 on a double-date with our friends. If you’re not familiar with the O2, you can check out a previous blog post here. Once again, we hit Five Guys because their burgers are just too damn good. We also watched Dr Strange at the O2’s big Superscreen cinema, which is a screen that is huge, spacious, and utterly amazing in terms of visuals and sound.

20161029_172506.jpg

As for the movie, Dr Strange is another strong entry in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It displays some real invention in its action sequences by taking an idea from Christopher Nolan’s Inception and exploring it to its fullest extent… this results in some extraordinary eye-candy instead of your more traditional fist-throwing.

strange

I can’t claim its amazing across the board but it certainly stands on its own as a great superhero film. It also has a conclusion that is among my favourite of all the MCU films, as its not your typical good guy v bad guy scenario. Like Civil War, that movie convention gets thrown out the window completely. Marvel truly are at the top of their game when it comes to understanding how to make movies.

In the last week or so, Elle and I have visited BoxPark a couple of times. If you’re not familiar with BoxPark, I guess I’d describe it as an enclosed venue of streetfood-style eateries, coffee shops, and bars. I initially wanted to make fun of it, but having gone there I have to admit its pretty cool. And some of the dining options there are great.

Photo_2016-11-13_01-56-10_PM.png

Work has been tough lately but its nothing to scream and shout about. As always, I’m taking things one day at a time. There have been some great blogs that have been keeping me entertained lately. I’m going to have start mentioning my favourite ones in future posts.

In the meantime, thanks for reading and take care out there. Until next time, folks! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Out and About in London

Leave a Reply

