Work, Games and Parties

December has begun!

What a busy time it is. Between work and leisure, December is usually crammed full of things to keep me occupied.

Photo_2016-12-03_04-57-12_PM.png

Hyper Japan Christmas Market returned to the Tobacco Docks in London. This is very similar to the main Hyper Japan event that takes place every summer. However, this one is on a smaller scale and has a lesser focus on live entertainment and a greater focus on shopping and merchandise.

The Tobacco Docks are also partly-based outdoors so it was freezing! It was so cold, in fact, that I didn’t want to stay for more than 3 hours, but I still had a great time… mainly thanks to the tonnes of free sake samples I got to try. I also picked up a few goodies to bring home with me.

Photo_2016-12-03_04-59-38_PM.png

Friday night saw work throw their annual Christmas party. These are usually extravagant affairs as they hire a separate venue for us and provide free food and drink. This time, it was a place called the Steel Yard that was not too far a walk from the office.

Photo_2016-12-03_04-53-47_PM.png

The bar was built into an old train tunnel, which was cool. We could hear trains rumbling overhead, which felt a little disconcerting at first… although after a couple of drinks I got used to it 😛 And speaking of drinks…

20161202_190943.jpg

… this was the ‘drinks dalek’ as I call it, a poor woman who wheeled around all evening offering fresh glasses of prosecco and juice. And that was in addition to the plethora of free drinks available at the bar. What really made it a memorable night, though, is seeing Flawless perform for/with us.

Screenshot_2016-12-03-17-01-47.png

At home, Elle and I have been busy getting ready for Christmas. Sometimes in the past, I’ve been so organised I’ve had the decorations up and all the presents purchased for December 1st. However, that isn’t the case this year as Elle and I have been busy with other things (which I’ll be blogging about in the near future).

That being said, I have had some time for Christmas shopping. Every year since 2012, my own personal tradition has been to wrap up all the presents in one massive wrapping session while watching a Marvel Avengers film. This is a tradition I intend to continue… just as soon as I get all the presents purchased!

xmas presents.jpg

And finally… I have been spending my free time this week on Final Fantasy XV.

Photo_2016-12-03_04-54-58_PM.png

This video game is nothing short of amazing! I’m a huge FF fan so I’m a bit biased, but I love the world, the visuals, the story, the music, the gameplay and the characters. This game is a home run on every level. I also feel a real connection to the four main characters (which is always crucial to a FF game in my opinion).

XV is arguably the most controversial entry in the franchise, as many fans instantly dislike the real-time combat (as opposed to traditional turn-based combat). But personally I think the combat is terrific. It is fun, fluid and immensely satisfying while still requiring a lot of strategy.

Final Fantasy has always reinvented itself with every major iteration, presenting new worlds with new characters and new gameplay mechanics. Which one you love is really just a question of personal preference. All I can say is this game has really captured my imagination. Its utterly gorgeous and its a real breath of fresh air to play male characters who are just on a road trip having fun together (instead of the typical macho types with bulging muscles who spray testosterone all over the place).

ffxv a.jpg

As December continues, many social meet-ups are planned and Christmas preparations are underway. I sincerely hope this proves to be a fun and festive month!

Thanks for reading. Until next time, folks 🙂

7 thoughts on “Work, Games and Parties

  1. Woah i love christmas markets they have soo so many christmas related stuff and i absolutely love this holiday♡
    I’m glad you had fun at the party too…i can’t wait to have my christmas party with my friends from the Non Guvernamental Organisation i run 🙂
    And the game sounds fun too…my boyfriend is playing games too and i think he would love this one!
    I hope you have a nice week too!

    Kitty ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

