One Year Blog Anniversary

Thanks for reading, followers!

As of today, I have been writing this blog for one whole year 🙂

fireworks.jpg

I first started this blog as a way to express my thoughts and feelings… To talk about something I’ve lived with… To keep a a diary of events in my personal life… and to build a rapport with other bloggers and read about what’s going on in their lives.
I’ve found it so interesting to read all your blogs while writing my own that I have no intention of stopping now 🙂

Screenshot_2016-11-29-10-55-18-1.png

As I look back over this year, I realise just how memorable 2016 has been. Regardless of how long you’ve been following me, I’d like to thank you all for checking out my journal and reading/liking/commenting.

Here are some of my favourite moments from 2016 that I’ve picked out 🙂

Giving Up Chocolate

screenshot_2016-03-24-22-21-17-1.png

As part of my new year’s resolution to get fitter, I decided to cut out chocolate for 40 days back in February. While I’m not religious, I love the idea of people giving up something they like for Lent. So I inflicted this challenge upon myself… which proved to be far more difficult than I anticipated. You can see how I got on here and here.

Sport Relief

20160320_143540.jpg

This chocolate-free health kick also lead me to sign up for Sport Relief along with my wife, Elle. While I’ve done 10k walks for charity before, I had never actually run for charity until this year. Running is still something that’s very difficult for me, and this was my first major milestone. See how I got along here.

Four Year Wedding Anniversary

fed-and-elle-in-tub-2

Elle and I booked a romantic getaway to celebrate our fourth wedding anniversary. It was a real treat to escape the bustle of our busy lives and enjoy the luxuries of a private lodge in Suffolk. It was a relaxing and restorative week. You can read about it here and here.

Westfield

20160325_115038.jpg

Another great memory for me is a day spent at Westfield shopping centre in Stratford. Elle and I spent the whole day looking around shops, eating, drinking, playing games and enjoying a trip to the cinema. As simple as that sounds, I really had a blast that day. You can check that out here.

Drinking on the Roof

20160507_155311-1.jpg

During the more clement summer months, a rooftop bar opened up that held outdoor cinema screenings. Elle and I took advantage of this several times and she liked it so much she even celebrated her birthday up there. The bar had a casual laid-back feel to it and I really enjoyed it. You can see what it was like here.

A Cosplay Wedding

20160909_195826

Two of my friends got married and held a wedding with a cosplay theme. This resulted in the most fun wedding I’ve been invited to by far. I went as a Pokemon trainer and Elle went as Elsa from Disney’s Frozen. Everyone had a ton of fun on the day and I truly don’t think I’ll ever attend a wedding more fun for the rest of my life. You can read more about it here.

Friends Fest

P1030041

Elle and I have enjoyed the sitcom Friends for many years. So attending this celebration of all things Friendly was a very fun day for us. It wasn’t too difficult to get to and we had a lot of fun getting involved in the various things to see and do. Check it out here.

Our Pet Gerbils

Photo_2016-12-12_11-58-09_PM.png

These have been my favourite moments of 2016, but I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the saddest parts of the year… the loss our beloved pet gerbils. We lost Aeris in March, Lexie in October, and Robyn just recently this December. They were our family members and Elle and I loved them dearly. I made this video to remember them by.

Yes… its safe to say 2016 has been a memorable year. Even for all the bad times I went through, I feel richer for having lived through them. I think the bad times in life can be just as important for us as the good times. And through it all, I know something about myself with more certainty than ever before.

Life is better with someone to share it with.

fb_img_1460105455161.jpg

Thank you all for reading my blog and sharing this journey with me. I sincerely hope you’ve enjoyed the good times of 2016 and weathered the bad times it brought.

2017 awaits.

 

4 thoughts on “One Year Blog Anniversary

Leave a Reply

