The Work-Life Balance of a New Father

After three weeks of paternity leave/annual leave, I have finally returned to work.

It has only been two days and yet I can confirm that the hardest thing about taking care of a newborn baby is leaving them to go to work. It goes against my instincts to leave my wife and child for a whole day. And yet it is a necessary evil if I want to earn enough money to support them.

So how is it going so far?

wp-1485896535354.jpg

Well the mornings are usually cheerful and full of energy. I get my blood pumping with a brisk walk to the office and meetings are generally going well. This leaves me feeling happy and productive when talking to my colleagues (which doesn’t happen often in my role).

Afternoons are when things go sour. Fatigue catches up with me and my concentration bails. An onslaught of queries also means I have about five things to keep in the back of my mind while I’m working. As such, I resort to coffee in the hope that it alone can salvage the day.

wp-1485896585555.jpg

Sadly, it doesn’t. I’m having to mediate certain issues in the office. After taking care of a crying baby, having to taking care of grown adults is the last thing I want to do. The minutiae of it all is what really gets to me. “I’m supposed to care about what?

Add to that the fact that I’m not hitting my target (thus losing money) and commuting on Southern Rail… and I basically get home feeling drained. That’s not how I want to feel when I walk through the front door and greet my family. I want to step through that door with energy and gusto announcing “Daddy’s home!” (But in a sincere way… not like Barney Stinson in How I Met Your Mother) 😛

Nevertheless, I’m healthy and happy so I don’t want to complain. I knew what that working full-time would be difficult after Elle and I had a baby. I just have to keep stepping up and trying my best.

I hope you all enjoy the rest of your week, folks!

4 thoughts on “The Work-Life Balance of a New Father

  1. Those early days definitely aren’t easy… keeping the ‘balance’ is so hard.. You’ll get there.. even if it feels like it’s through a ‘haze’.. of sleepless nights.. Good luck x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome and although I’m onto the next round with grandchildren, I can still remember the stress of those sleepless nights and having to still get out for work.. I’m glad you’re finding support through your blog.. xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

