Sleeping Patterns

Due to taking care of a newborn baby, my sleeping patterns lately have wildly changed. So to try and regulate them – or at the very least monitor them – I’ve been wearing a fitness/sleep tracker called MisFit Shine.

20160116_145924.jpg

This device tracks how much light sleep and restful sleep I get each night (restful meaning good quality sleep). It is remarkably accurate at detecting my movements so it never confuses me sitting on the couch with sleeping in bed.

I’ve also been reading advice online for sleepwalking, since this is something that hits me at unexpected times. I found a lot of articles and threads about this, but two bits of advice stood out the most.

Consistent Sleep Cycles

Going to bed and waking up at regular times can provide a more restful sleep, which reduces the chances of a sleepwalk. Of course, that’s easier said than done when caring for a baby. But Elle and I have worked out a fairly regular ‘shift’ approach to taking care of Zack late at night and early in the morning.

Losing the Pyjamas

wp-1486794148151.jpg

No, this didn’t pique my interest because I’m a typical single-minded man 😛 This interested me for a couple of reasons.

Firstly, my sleepwalks are often triggered by stress… at least as far as Elle and I can tell. Sleeping naked apparently lowers cortisol levels in the body and thus reduces stress levels.

Secondly, a common effect of my sleepwalks is that I remove my clothes while I’m wondering around. So what would happen if I pre-emptively removed them? Would I do something else during my walk? Or perhaps not even walk at all?

I’ve been monitoring my sleep patterns for a week now and have been rotating my sleeping attire each night. One night I’d wear my usual sleeping attire (pyjama bottoms and a t-shirt) and the next night I’d wear nothing. The results were interesting.

I haven’t gone for another sleepwalk so far, but that doesn’t mean anything as they can be weeks/months apart. I also haven’t been stressed out this week, which is the usual trigger.

However, what is intriguing is the amount of restful sleep I got on each night.

wp-1486761269626.png

On the nights I wore pyjamas, I got roughly the same amount of light sleep as when I was wearing nothing.

wp-1486761286123.png

However, on each night I slept naked, I got more restful sleep than when I was wearing clothes. I also have to admit… it felt more comfortable, which I didn’t expect given how cold the weather is right now.

I’ve also woken up feeling much fresher when I’ve slept naked. However, I’ve read message boards that suggest this could just be a placebo type of thing. I’m going to keep mixing things up for now, but I’m glad I’m trying this out. It does seem to be helping me feel more rested. The real test will be whether or not it helps with sleepwalking in the future.

Thanks for reading, folks. Sweet dreams 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sleeping Patterns

  1. Have to agree with the pyjamas advice. I never sleep better than when I’m clothing-free. Doesn’t matter how cold it gets, as long as I have suitable duvet. Glad you’ve been able to travel your sleep just like a scientist! 🙂 Here’s hoping you start getting more sleep soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

