Marching Through March

It’s a brisk morning in March and the sun is slowly rising over the cityscape of London.

The days have recently fallen back into a real sense of routine, in the sense I can comfortably go to bed late and wake up early and still function normally in my work schedule. 

My wife and I are still obviously sleep deprived, but she is taking the brunt of it by getting up for all the night feeds Monday-Friday so I can get some rest before work.

As for the culprit behind this all… our baby Zack is doing great!

He is at the stage where he recognises us and smiles in welcome, which honestly melts my heart when I see it. That simple recognition… the fact he likes seeing us… that’s all I need to endure a thousand more bad sleeps. I’m dubbing this term New Parent Happy Feeling Syndrome.

Actually that’s a terrible name. Scratch that 😛

So what else has been going on? Well I’m currently 17 days into my 40 days without chocolate.

It isn’t hitting me nearly as bad as it did last year, but that’s probably because I’ve been substituting chocolate with other refined sugar snacks like biscuits and snack bars. I guess I should probably try giving up refined sugar at some point.

I had another unusual sleep incident this morning.

Apparently I sat up in bed and looked around. What’s fascinating to me, though, is that I spoke to Elle! When she asked me if I was all right, I replied “Yes” even though I have no recollection of it.

Sadly I also hit her gently on the arm, which is a big worry for me. I must stress… gently. She demonstrated it on me and it was like a gentle smack on the arm. Elle is fine and so is the baby. Although I do hope that never happens again.

Zack has been very popular lately, meeting lots of friends and relatives. Last weekend saw his first visit to a pub, which was a nice family-friendly place. I have to admit… I’d forgotten how great pub food is 😛

This weekend will be first in a long time where Elle and I have no plans to meet anyone… which will afford us time to do some proper housework. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I’m actually really looking forward to cleaning up and getting the place clean and tidy! What’s happened to me? I’m looking forward to housework :O

Anyway, that’s all for now. Thanks for reading and I hope you’re all having a great week 🙂

2 thoughts on “Marching Through March

Leave a Reply

