What I’ve Been Watching

I haven’t done a blog post like this before, but I’ve seen others doing it and I quite like the idea 🙂 So here are the films/programs I’ve been watching lately.

Moana

What can I say except you’re welcome?

I never grew up on Disney the way others did. In fact by the time I hit my teenage years, I downright hated the formulaic story telling almost all of their films used. There were occasionally films I liked such as Beauty & the Beast… but its only with the latest offerings like Frozen, Wreck-It Ralph, and Moana that I’ve found myself really warming to them and singing their catchy songs out loud.

Moana has a great female role model setting out to make her own destiny in spite of societal pressures. Dwayne Johnson finally plays a big burly character who is as likeable as the real life actor himself (normally I love the actor but hate the roles he plays). And the songs? Well lets just say I listened to an hour-long loop of You’re Welcome on YouTube at work… and I regret nothing 😛

If you’re looking for a summer-time version of Frozen, this is it.

Your Lie in April

I love that moment when you wish a Netflix show was downloadable to your phone, then realise it is! Your Lie in April is an anime that I’ve been watching on my commutes to work. It has a slow and relaxed pace with some lovely visuals and music. I also like it because I haven’t seen a lot of anime that didn’t involve an action-based ‘good guys v bad guys’ story. This is purely about the characters and the interactions they have with each other.

I don’t know many people who are into anime, so this is obviously not going to be for everyone. But if you do enjoy it and you’re looking for something bite-sized and easy-going, these 20 minute episodes are a pleasant and soothing distraction.

Designated Survivor

This is another show that’s both streamable and downloadable on Netflix. I was intrigued by the premise and eagerly gobbled up the first three episodes. As a political thriller, it’s slightly smarter than the plethora of American thrillers out there at the moment. And Kiefer Sutherland aptly employs his seriousness in a role that is far less offensive than 24’s Jack Bauer.

The trouble is… if you have ever seen The West Wing, then Designated Survivor looks like it was written by a 12-year old. The story is compelling, but any potentially meaningful conversations are cut short just as they’re getting interesting… presumably because the writers/producers are afraid of losing the audience to words that are bigger than three syllables. It’s a shame because this could have been something really special. But the way things are developing, I may just go back to my West Wing boxsets 😛

Rogue One

 Star Wars comes of age.

I’m sorry if that statement offends any fans of the franchise. I don’t mean that the Star Wars films are only for kids… I just mean that Rogue One feels like the first Star Wars film that is specifically designed for adults.

The story takes us to locations that look and feel genuinely lived-in. The cast of well-developed characters are presented in a believable fashion and given time to breathe on-screen, giving the audience a perfect understanding of their drives and personalities. Gareth Edwards’ understanding of space also makes this one of the most interesting Star Wars films to simply look at… not for the fancy visual effects but to absorb everything you can see in the background and foreground.

A diverse cast helps the idea that we’re looking at a vast galaxy of different worlds, people and cultures. Each person has something to bring to the table. And there is a dark scary moment at the end of the film that genuinely gave me goosebumps. I won’t spoil it. But just when you thought a villain couldn’t get anymore iconic, along comes one of his finest moments in the franchise (the best in my opinion).

So that’s what I’ve been watching. If you have any thoughts or recommendations you’d like to share, feel free to post them below 🙂

Thanks for reading, folks!

 

4 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Watching

Leave a Reply

