Easter Weekend 2017

Full disclosure… this blog post is being written under the influence of a severe overdose of chocolate and sugar.

Easter Weekend is such a great occasion for me. It’s a four-day stretch of family, friends and over-indulgence. This year, the celebrations began in earnest on Good Friday with Zack’s first egg hunt.

This public event took place in Morden Hall Park and was a pleasant way to spend time with some friends. Naturally, it was a big hit with parents and the park was full of kids and buggies.

Afterwards, we walked to nearby Chinese restaurant for some lunch… which was great because it was empty!

We had the entire place to ourselves (whether or not this is down to the quality of the food is something I’ve avoided dwelling on) 😛

As a sweet treat for Saturday, I bought a chocolate pizza. Let me say that again… a chocolate pizza.

I’ve had my eye on this for a while and figured if there was ever a time to justify eating this, it was ‘Official Chocolate Weekend.’ Alas, while pizza and chocolate are both great, somehow combining them is not. Don’t ask me why – I don’t know what went wrong. It was bland, oddly textured, and just not very satisfying at all.

Easter Sunday began with breakfast in bed for Elle… consisting of a freshly baked croissant and coffee.

Afterwards, we lay around in bed with little Zack, relaxing and watching Frasier on TV. I even had time for a bit of Final Fantasy on the Playstation 4. It was a perfect relaxing Sunday morning, with the added bonus of exchanging Easter eggs 🙂

Like Christmas, we split the day between my parents and Elle’s parents so we’d get to see both our families. We’re really lucky that they live a short drive apart, as it means neither of us feel left out when it comes to seeing our parents during special holidays.

In addition to all the snacks and treats, we had roast lamb with all the trimmings for both lunch and dinner.

On top of that, there were some delicious desserts to enjoy including home-made profiteroles and home-made trifle topped with chocolate shavings.

I must have consumed something like 3000-5000 calories. But I’m not going to beat myself up too much. I don’t do this every weekend, and it has sort of become a tradition with our families to get together and eat delicious food.

With so many shops closed and the roads emptier than usual, Easter truly does feel like a second Christmas in many ways.

Which brings us to today – Easter Monday. We went out for breakfast with our good friend Laura, opting for Boxpark as we’ve enjoyed that before.

Laura (sort of) recommended a place called MUD that turned out to be great 🙂 The food they served was delicious and well presented. I had scrambled eggs on sourdough bread while Elle had pancakes with apple, custard and pistachio crumble.

It was so filling that we’re skipping lunch completely! I’d definitely come back here for brunch, though.

I’ve been amusing myself with some Easter blogs of what you’ve all been getting upto too. Good lordy, there’s a lot of chocolate out there right now! Good luck getting it all down, folks 😛
Thanks for reading and I’ll see you next time 🙂

2 thoughts on “Easter Weekend 2017

  1. Oh my goodness – this all looks totally scrumptious. I also have had far too much sugar which wasn’t good and means I have to go on a severe ‘sugar/carb’ fast from tomorrow!!! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

