Nintendo Nights

It’s a cold and grey day in London. The rain has been coming down steadily for hours, bringing with it an oddly soothing ambience.

rainy

After my last blog post I had hoped to write this post after accomplishing the thing I was too anxious to do before. Alas, it’s been a couple of weeks now and I’ve not had the will to do it.

However, not everything is grey and dull. My wife and son are the best cure to a grey day. One smile from either of them is enough to brighten the whole world.

wp-image-439392703jpg.jpg

I stay up late at night with Zack in the living room so Elle can get a few well-deserved hours of uninterrupted sleep. This is always a nice opportunity for some quality bonding time between father and son. Even just watching him slowly drift off to sleep is a joy. But when he drifts off to sleep, I find myself sitting in a darkened room with one or two hours before I go to sleep.

Someone else may be at a loss what to do. But as a fan of video games, I know this is the perfect time to open up my Nintendo 3DS 🙂

3ds b

I’m a big fan of portable games consoles. The PSP, the Vita and the 3DS have all been invaluable to me during hundreds of hours commutes over the last decade. I say hundreds of hours because I’m reluctant to actually calculate just how much of my life I’ve spent commuting.

20170203170458.png

The 3DS has been out for so long now that it has already become an ‘old generation’ console due to the recent release of the Nintendo Switch. But while everyone is playing Zelda and Mario Kart on the Switch, I’ve rediscovered a huge catalogue of fantastic 3DS games that are just bursting with joy and colour.

wp-1495053178608.jpg

My favourite title by far is Fantasy Life… a Japanese role-playing game that basically gives me everything I’ve ever wanted from a JRPG. I bought this game when it launched back in 2014 and I’m still head-over-heels in love with it.

The other titles are a mix of sale purchases and Elle’s library of old games that she no longer plays. Both Mario Kart 7 and Super Smash Bros still have very active online scenes – it takes no time at all to find online matches to either spectate or participate in. And I don’t think I need to explain to anyone what Pokemon is anymore. Sun & Moon is the newest adventure, and is certainly the most advanced one in the main Pokemon series. Although to be honest, I feel Fantasy Life is still a superior RPG.

good morning

Overall, this treasure trove of gaming is proving to be a colourful elixir to the grey of the world. Nintendo really takes me back to the simple childhood days of gaming before every hero needed to be a muscular space marine who shot his way down grey corridors in the most gory way possible. Sometimes the most satisfying moments of gaming gold can come from the most unexpectedly child-friendly titles.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to go challenge some elite Mario Kart racers in Japan to a race on Rainbow Road. God help me.

Until next time, folks! 😛

4 thoughts on “Nintendo Nights

  1. This was fun to read. Glad these bright games can make your hours of commute (and hopefully only occasional sleepless nights) more fun!

    My favorite games are usually the child-friendly ones. They’re so colorful, and always have the most heart. They feel the most like they’re intended to tell a story and just be fun (Granted, I do play other games). The only downside is the occasional awkwardly executed explanation via character dialogue and long tutorials designed to assist if you’ve never played a game before!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment! It’s true… there are definitely some poorly executed tutorials in some games XD What are you playing right now?

      Like

      1. I am one of those people who plays multiple games at once, and almost never finishes (partly because I don’t want the game to end), and could be said to be playing any one of them! I could say I am playing Fantasy Life or Harvest Moon even though I haven’t touched them in months. Most recently, however, I’ve been focusing on Breath of the Wild and Overwatch.

        Is that lovely stack of games a pretty good representation of what you are playing?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah all excellent choices 🙂 BotW looks amazing and I’m not even into Zelda. Out of my 3DS stack, I’m playing Mario Kart, Fantasy Life, Super Smash and Pilotwings… I’ve lost interest in the others.

        Time/circumstances permitting, I also like to play Destiny and Final Fantasy 14 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

