Vitality Westminster Mile

Damn, it feels good to run!

Since my baby Zack arrived, I’ve definitely grown one of those ‘dad bods’ everyone is talking about. I quit the gym last year to save money for my baby, so my exercise regime went to hell. I had planned to get back into running in the streets, but it just isn’t the same.

Today I took part in the Vitality Westminster Mile and it was BRILLIANT 🙂

The event was so well organised and the weather was sunny and beautiful. Everyone was split into categories beforehand so hardcore runners could go first and casual runners/families could go afterwards.

Seb Coe set us off at the starting line.

I haven’t been able to run a mile without stopping for a while, but I managed it… and I’m feeling pretty damn good about it too. I get an odd sense of achievement crossing that finishing line. I got a bit dizzy after I passed it, but that might not be due to my fitness level. It could just be related to the heat, as London is enjoying a really great summer right now.

All in all, I’m very glad I took part in today. It reminded me my body is capable of more than I realise. It was also a fantastic experience and I’m definitely going back next year!

Thanks for reading, folks 🙂

3 thoughts on “Vitality Westminster Mile

Leave a Reply

