The MVP Award

Warning:Β This post could sound rather self-indulgent… not because I have a big ego, but because I am genuinely surprised at how much recognition I have received at work lately. I am absolutely over the moon! πŸ™‚

So I recently received an MVP award at work, which was a massive surprise. The MVP awards are quarterly presentations that give a handful of people recognition for outstanding achievement in their field. The winners are nominated by employees, so only the people with the most nominations are considered.

I never expected to win this award – it just seemed like something beyond me. But I’ll admit that I’ve occasionally wondered what it would be like to have my name called during a presentation, then go up and receive my prize in front of the entire company. A somewhat egotistical fantasy, I’ll admit.

So how did it feel?

Well I didn’t actually live out that particular fantasy, as I wasn’t at work during the presentation πŸ˜› But I have been told by several people that I got the largest round of applause and cheers when my name was called.

That alone blows me away. I mean… people clapped and cheered? For me?

I just feel so humbled and grateful by that. After years of hard work (and it has been exceptionally hard at times), it’s so gratifying to be recognised at such a high level. A colleague of mine recorded a video of one of the senior managers giving a speech about me. Ego aside, it felt amazing to watch that. It was both flattering and humbling.

So what was the prize? Firstly, a spot on the MVP wall for everyone to see. Secondly, an all expenses-paid boat trip down the River Thames, followed by a meal at a Gordon Ramsay pub. And thirdly, a cheque for Β£250! πŸ™‚

This is a delicious sum of money that I intend to spend unwisely. The first goodie on my list is Stormblood, the newest expansion to a video game I love called Final Fantasy XIV.

wp-1499285622511.jpg

I have also pre-ordered a couple of gaming goodies that are out later this month.

wp-1499260234580.png

I bought a tonne of chocolates for my colleagues when I got back to the office… just to say thanks for all the nominations. And finally, I intend to treat Elle to a nice dinner at a restaurant when we’re next free πŸ™‚

The MVP Evening

The trip down the Thames was very cool. It was on a speedboat by the Thames RIB Experience. They picked us up from a pier near work and then sailed us at a leisurely pace down the river, pointing out famous landmarks as we passed.

This allowed us to get some great photos. The weather was nice and warm, but a cloud layer blocked out the sun so we didn’t get sunburnt. After we had cleared the majority of the landmarks, there was a long stretch of river where there was nothing but private property… so the hosts decided to kick the speed up and swerve us around on the water to the James Bond theme music.

I have to be honest… it felt epic!

The pub it dropped us off at was called The Narrow, and it was no ordinary pub… at least not the kind I’m used to. This was definitely on that level of “Don’t enter unless you look smart and have lots of money.” Apparently all the food was designed by Gordon Ramsay.

Luckily, the company’s coffers were being emptied for the occasion so I didn’t hold back in ordering the most expensive Japanese whisky they had in stock… Nikka From The Barrel.

As it turned out… I drank the last of their stock! But it was worth every drop. It was smooth and slightly smoky without any lasting bitterness.Β It was the nicest thing about the meal as – sadly – the food was mediocre.

It all looked great on paper and looked even more amazing in terms of the presentation… but the quality of food was pretty poor. Normally, I wouldn’t mind that with pub food, but this was supposed to be the ‘upper tier’ of pub food. And given how strict Gordon Ramsay is about food, I expected his menu to actually… you know… be good.


The only things I thought were good were the bread and the scoop of salted caramel ice cream. Still, it was free so I have no complaints πŸ™‚

Overall, I am thrilled about receiving this award. It was a lovely surprise and another kick to my inner thoughts, reminding me not to listen to my self-doubts and reservations. And on that note of self-adulation, I’ll bid you goodbye.

As always, thank you so much for reading! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “The MVP Award

  1. Wow – what a fantastic achievement and I think there is no better accolade than the votes of your colleagues and their support of your success! Well done and sounds like you had a great prize to enjoy too! Fab x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

