Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder

What a busy time it is.

After riding the highs of my MVP award, work has become quite intense due to training a new team member. The days are longer, which in turn makes the commutes tougher. But the toughest part to swallow is missing my baby, Zack.

wp-1499456017132.jpg
Being away from him and my wife Elle for 11-12 hours every day sucks. I mean it just sucks. I feel it most in the mornings when I’m at my desk. I think to myself “It’ll be 10 hours before I get to see them again.” And when I do, the little man will probably tired or agitated, meaning most of our interaction is feeding/changing/soothing.

But I’m not complaining. I’m working as hard as I can to support my family. That’s what I want to do. And there are ways to counter the issue. Although I can’t work from home while I’m training, Elle and Zack are going to stop by the office to have lunch with me soon. Zack was a big hit during his previous trip to the office.

wp-1500468250782.jpg
Over the weekend, Zack had another trip to a restaurant as I took Elle out for dinner using some of the MVP prize money. She chose Zizzi’s – which turned out to be an excellent choice!
wp-1500468064443.jpg
We’ve been to this particular Zizzi’s before, albeit not for some time. It used to be a fire station so there is has a lot of space and character to it. The food was good and I always enjoy ordering a carafe of wine, as I don’t get to do so very often 😛 But the thing I found to be absolutely amazing was the espresso affogato.
wp-1500468101560.jpg
This divine dessert consisted of vanilla ice cream with amaretti, a shot of espresso, and a shot of Frangelico hazelnut liqueur. For the best experience, I’d recommend pouring the liqueur into the espresso and then pouring it over the ice cream. I want to go back specifically for this!

Zack was very well behaved throughout and even made friends with some people sitting at the table next to us… to say nothing of the waitress who said he was absolutely adorable 🙂

wp-1500468023971.jpg
As always, I will try to keep in mind all the positive wonderful things in my life. And I hope you can all do the same 🙂

Thanks for reading, folks!

4 thoughts on “Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder

  1. Zack looks really into that brochure! He’s adorable. The dessert looks yummy. It’s great to keep in mind the positive things in life, and I’ll try to do the same. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

